ESH: Superintendents

Special Note: The dates on this list are being updated on a regular basis. As such, some of the date may be off. Please keep this in mind as we research available information.


John Hunt, First Chairman of Board


Dr. John Rowan Allen, First Medical Superintendent


Dr. H. Perrin, Interim Superintendent


Dr. W. S. Chipley


Dr. John W. Whitney


Dr. George Syng Bryant


Dr. R. C. Chenault


Dr. A. W. Bartlett



Dr. W. O. Bullock


Dr. R. C. Chenault


Dr. F. H. Clarke

Dr. F. H. Clarke


W. F. Scott

Dr. W. F. Scott


Dr. E. M. Wiley


Dr. J. S. Redwine


Dr. R. L. Willis


Dr. Charles A. Nevitt


Dr. Joseph A Goodson


Dr. Fred G. LaRue



Dr. E. H. Maggard

(1932-1933 )

Dr. Edward Davenport



Dr. J. L. Vallandingham


Dr. Phillips

Dr. C. C. Phillips, Interim Superintendent and Clinical Director



Dr. F. K. Foley



Dr. Charles Feuss



Dr. L. S. Nolan



Dr. Logan Gragg



Dr. Cleto Elequin



Dr. Donald Ralph


Dan Luchtefeld


Contributed by Phil Tkacz & Shawn Logan |

Important note:
If you would like to use any information on this website (including text, bios, photos and any other information) we encourage you to contact us. We do not own all of the materials on this website/blog. Many of these materials are courtesy of other sources and the original copyright holders retain all applicable rights under the law. Please remember that information contained on this site, authored/owned by KHI, is provided under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Photographs, text, illustrations and all other media not authored by KHI belong to their respective authors/owners/copyright holders and are used here for educational purposes only under Title 17 U.S. Code § 107.

Creative Commons License